Today will be my first day of carpooling with my friend from work. She’s coming four miles out of her way to get me, so I hope this will work out okay for her. Maybe tomorrow, when it’s not thunderstorming, I’ll ride David’s scooter over to her house in the morning. We’re going for the middle three days of the week, alternating weeks, so we can still schedule other stuff on Mondays and Fridays. I hope this works out for both of us. On non-driving weeks, we should be able to get by on $20 worth of gas instead of $50.

Gas prices suck, but I can’t help but think that it’s a good thing–it will provide incentive for some bright engineering types to go for that patent on whatever mysterious gizmo they’ve worked out that will save the day. I think these gas prices have just provided a mother for the invention. Now gestate, baby!

