scrapghan

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Ah spring, such as it is. (They’re predicting snow again.) I was feeling a little let down, knitting wise, with no more people wanting hats or slipper socks. I wasn’t in the mood to make more dishcloths. And then I spied my long abandoned scrapghan! I’ve got tons more colors to use up after a long (loooong) winter of knitting!

Of course, being me, I had to dig through a metric ton of yarn bands and yarn scraps and long lost needles and long lost pattern print-outs and long lost dishcloth cotton, and STILL couldn’t find the pattern I was using. Defeated, I came in to my computer to find the pattern (which I’m sure I’ve printed out several times) and when I found it under two names: Stained Glass Pram Blanket and Honeycomb Stroller Blanket, both of which have identical long-winded patterns, I decided I didn’t want to waste two or three sheets of paper (to lose again by next spring). So I made a shorthand version of the pattern with standard knitting notation, then decided that maybe other knitters might appreciate a tree-friendly and eye-friendly version, too! So here you go, a PDF to download and print out:

ScrapghanShorthand

In case you want to see what it looks like before downloading, here it is, in all its simple glory. If you don’t already know the shorthand, K means knit, P means purl, wyib means with yarn in back, and wyif means with yarn in front. And the asterisk * means to repeat everything between the asterisks until you get to whatever you need to do to the right of the asterisk.

Oh, oops, I forgot to add my border to the sides. I just knit an extra five stitches on each side of every row.

Scrapghan in Shorthand

CO 100 (or multiple of 8 + 12)

Border:                 *K* six rows

Rows 1 and 2:    *K*
Row 3 (RS):         With color, K1, wyib slip 2, *knit 6, slip 2 wyib * K1
Row 4:                    P1, wyif slip 2, *P6, wyif slip 2 * P1
Rows 5, 6, 7, 8:  Repeat rows 3 and 4 two times
Rows 9 and 10:  Change to BLACK. *K*
Row 11:                    With next color, K5, wyib slip 2, *K6, wyib slip 2 * K5
Row 12:                  P5, wyif slip 2, *P6, wyif slip 2* P5
Rows 13-16:        Repeat rows 11 and 12 two times
Rows 17-218:     Repeat rows 1-16 twelve times. Repeat rows 1-10 one time.

Border:                 *K* six rows

Bind off. Weave in ends.

 

I sure wish I had the patience now to figure out which row I left off on…

